RBC Concert Series

Clarinets in Concert

Sunday, april 7, 3:00 p.m., with reception immediately following


pianoclarinet 2.jpg

April 7, 3:00 p.m. You are invited to attend a special concert featuring the talented trio of Laura Grantier and Lera League (clarinetists), and Elizabeth Hill, pianist.

the musicians:

Clarinetist, Laura Grantier, DMA, joined the Navy Band in 1995. She earned a BM from the University of Alabama in 1993, pursued a MM at the Eastman School of Music in 1994, received an MBA from Averett University in 2004, and a DMA from the Catholic University of America in 2012. She was appointed assistant principal clarinet in 1999 and principal clarinet in 2015.

Clarinetist, Lera League, joined the Navy Band in 2003. She received a Bachelor of Music Education from the University of Louisville in 1997 and a Master of Music in clarinet performance from the University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music in 1999.  She has performed with the McLean Symphony Orchestra and the Chamber Arts Society of Cincinnati.

Pianist, Elizabeth G. Hill, DMA, is an accomplished soloist, chamber musician, orchestral pianist, and educator. She received the B.A. in Music Performance from Mary Baldwin College (through the Program for the Exceptionally Gifted), the M.M. in Piano Performance from James Madison University, and the D.M.A in Chamber Music from The Catholic University of America. She is the co-founder of Meraki, a chamber ensemble devoted to awakening cultural compassion through music.

the program:

Concertino, Op. 26 (1811)                                              Carl Maria von Weber (1786-1826)

Wings for Solo Bb Clarinet (1983)                                Joan Tower (b. 1938)


Concerto for Two Clarinets, Op. 35 (1803)                   Franz Krommer (1759-1831)

I.                 Allegro

Sonatine (1925)                                                               Arthur Honegger (1892-1955)

I.                 Modere

II.               Lent et soutenu

III.             Vif et rythique

Sonata for Clarinet and Piano (1962)                            Francis Poulenc (1899-1963)

I.                 Allegro Tristamente

II.               Romanza

III.             Allegro con Fuoco

This concert is a part of the RBC Concert Series. There is no admission charge. Feel free to invite friends, family, and neighbors. there will be a reception afterwards. all are welcome!

want to know about future concert events at RBC?

If you would like to receive email notices of our future RBC Concert Series events, please complete the form below and submit.  We will only email you about concert events, unless you request additional information about other RBC activities.

Name *